Definitions of Senior Care Terms

Care provided in-home by doctors, nurses and/or other licensed or credentialed
para-professionals. (Such as CNA's.) Sometimes referred to as
domiciliary care.
In-home non-medical care typically pertains to supportive care provided in-home by
non-medical professionals or para-professionals (such as CNA's) - or - by family and friends
(sometimes called primary caregivers). In-home non-medical care is focused on assisting the
client with ADLs and ancillary lifestyle activities.
Often referred to as Retirement Communities or 55+ Communities, an Independent Living
Facility is a cluster of single-family homes, condominium complex, apartment building or other
housing arrangement designed specifically for seniors 55 years-old and older. The residents of
an Independent Living Facility do not need daily assistance with medical needs or Activities of
Daily Life (ADLs).
Sometimes referred to as long-term care facilities or convalescent homes, a Nursing Home is a
residential facility staffed by medical professionals and para-professionals focused on caring for
residents with chronic illnesses and disabilities. Often, residents have mobility challenges or
eating/breathing difficulties and require focused, continual care.
Usually applying to a dimension of in-home care provided by family and friends (primary
caregivers), Respite Care is a temporary arrangement with a care service to provide care for a
senior loved one in order to allow the primary caregiver(s) a break for a short time period. (A
day, 24-hour period, weekend, etc.) Caregivers utilized for respite care include in-home care
services, home health care agencies and adult foster care homes or assisted living facilities
with provisions for drop-in care services.
The Roper-Logan-Tierney Model of Nursing is a model of nursing care first published in 1980
and based on work performed by Nancy Roper in 1976. It is a nursing care protocol built
around the Activities of Daily Life (ADLs). The model identifies 12 (twelve) activities one must
do in order to live and uses these baseline stratifications to establish care plans for patients
and during care, measure a patient's progress. Although hybrid modalities for ADLs do exist,
the 12 Roper-Logan-Tierney Activities of Daily Living are:
  • Maintaining a safe environment
  • Communication
  • Breathing
  • Eating and Drinking
  • Elimination
  • Washing and Dressing
  • Controlling Temperature
  • Mobilization
  • Working and Playing
  • Expressing Sexuality
  • Sleeping
  • Death and Dying


A thru AS • AT thru RO